What was the western border of the Northwest Territory?

What was the western border of the Northwest Territory?

Part of the vast domain ceded by Great Britain to the United States in the Treaty of Paris (1783), the Northwest Territory encompassed the area west of Pennsylvania, east of the Mississippi River, and north of the Ohio River to the border with British Canada.

What was the western and southern border of the Northwest Territory?

Settlement of America’s western lands began with the Northwest Ordinance of 1787. Northwest Territory, U.S. territory created by Congress in 1787 encompassing the region lying west of Pennsylvania, north of the Ohio River, east of the Mississippi River, and south of the Great Lakes.

What ocean borders the Northwest Territories?

Northwest Territories is bordered by the Arctic Ocean and the Beaufort Sea, Nunavut to the east, Yukon Territory to the west, and British Columbia, Alberta, and Saskatchewan to the north.

What did the Northwest Territory border on?

Great Lakes

Why is the Northwest Territory important?

An Ordinance for the Government of the Territory of the United States, North-West of the River Ohio, 1787. Considered one of the most important legislative acts of the Confederation Congress, the Northwest Ordinance also protected civil liberties and outlawed slavery in the new territories. …

What was the first settlement in the Northwest Territory?


How much did the Northwest Territory cost?

It provided for the division of the Northwest Territory into townships, each of which would be subdivided into lots a mile square, or 640 acres. The cost of a single lot was too high–a minimum of $640–to attract buyers.

How many states were there in 1896?

Since the establishment of the United States in 1776, the number of states has expanded from the original 13 to 50. Each new state has been admitted on an equal footing with the existing states….List of U.S. states.

State 45
Date (admitted or ratified) January 4, 1896 (admitted)
Formed from Utah Territory

Did America ever have 52 states?

The United States of America USA has had 50 states since 1959. The District of Columbia is a federal district, not a state. Many lists include DC and Puerto Rico, which makes for 52 “states and other jurisdictions”. The flag has 50 stars, one for each state.


You already voted!

You may also like these